Bluegill - Big Bluegill

Do you love big bluegill?

Hi Everyone,
Just had a quick question. I never thought about using crickets before for bluegill but what a great idea. I might have to try it next time I go. Just a quick question.
Where do you hook crickets?
I have never used them before but I am willing to trying it out and see what I can catch. Let me know
Thanks
Scott

Views: 1533

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Scott, crickets make excellent bait for bluegills and all types of sunfish. The gills, crappies, green sunfish, and the pumpkinseed seem to really relish them in the ponds and small lakes I fish in here in Northern Kentucky. The problem is, no matter how I hook them they don't seem to stay on the hook very well. I have tried hooking them on all parts of their small bodies but it has not really made much of a difference for me. Just have A LOT of them on hand. They are great bait and I have caught my share of large gills and the p-seeds with them. Good luck!
Thanks for this topic Scott,Jack and Brian. Never tried crickets. What size Hook do you suggest ?How about a long shank#12?
I've kind of gotten away from useing live bait like crickets but I'm not a dyed in the wool purest yet. Teachin my grandkids to fish has brought me back to the fun of simpler methods. When we fish with crickets I tie on a #6 or #8 sickle hook and hook the cricket thru the collar on the back of its neck. Like Brian said, bring plenty because you'll get your hook cleaned often. When the kids are cricket fishin with me the boat usually fills up with escapees and when they jump ship it brings lots of brim & bass close to slurp them off the surface. Keeps the kids from gettin bored. lol
Good info, as I am thinking of trying crickets this year too!!