Bluegill - Big Bluegill

Do you love big bluegill?

ok I know this might me a question that I should know....what is the proper way to fish a bobber and jig,? I see pro crappie anglers do it, but, I have little success, I want to be able to succeed with this system, it looks like fun.

Views: 2505

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

David, I'm new to this method as well, but tried it a few time before ice over last fall and have been practicing at a nearby open spillway this winter. So I am very interested to see replies to your question as well.

How I do it, and how I've seen it done, tighten the knot quite tight, add your bead, slip the bobber on, then tie on your jig. The size of the jig will dictate the size of your bobber and you can adjust the knot (which adjusts your jig's depth) by simply pulling it up or down your line.

Very fun way to fish and hope to get better at it. I especially like to do this with the kids I take fishing too. Without the bobber they have a tendency to let their jig fall too far and either get snagged or drag on the bottom and not get any bites. With the bobber I know how deep they are and they can still get good experience working a jig.
The way Josh said is correct.
I've caught crappie using this method, I always fished the jig under a round bobber, or an oblong one, as long, as it had some weight to it {easier to cast for distance. The way I fished it is by casting it letting it settle and then popping it, reel it in slowly a few inches, sit, then pop it again. The fish would generally hit it on the sit. I've used this method in creeks mostly, but have used it in lakes also. I've never tried it without the bobber, but like I stated before, I need the weight for the long cast.
When I taught my boys how to fish this technique (a common presentation for us), I constantly reminded them to "bring it to life".
A hair jig under a float, be it a fixed float or a slip float, is my personal favorite.