Bluegill - Big Bluegill

Do you love big bluegill?

This is my first try at beginning a thread here, so I hope I'm doing it right. 

I have read several people's comments about adding a piece of live bait to a jig. Such as putting a cricket on a jig. My question is, "Is that better than putting a cricket on a bare hook?"  

Also, is there a pattern database here somewhere where I can see pictures of jigs and read the materials list or a step-by-step of how to tie that particular pattern?  

Are there any "Swaps" going on here where, say, a dozen guys send a set of a dozen flies to a "host" who sends back everyone one each of all the other jigs submitted? That way you send in 12 of the same pattern and get back 12 different patterns. 

Or instead of that, would any of you guys who fly fish be willing to send me 3 or 4 jigs and let me send you 3 or 4 flies that are good bluegill flies?

Thanks

Randall Runion 

Views: 1705

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Most answers will also be opinions Randall........I haven't fished a plain hook in many years since I have caught so many fish on tipped jigs including trophy class gills......I believe that the color and flash bring fish in and the tipped live bait completes the deal for the senses of the fish.....I love jig fishing and the results are proven in the waters I fish....Good luck! 

I don't make baits but I'm aware of several organized bait swaps on this forum and there is are talented craftsmen here at BBG.com.......

Jeff

Like Jeffrey, I believe the flash of color helps entice the fish, In my opinion the true test of a jig's effectiveness comes with its ability to catch just as many fish when naked, as it does when its dressed.

I just got in from doing a little evening fishing, and I was using a simple jig tied by our own Dick Tabbert, tipped with a waxworm. The jig had no eyes, tail, wings, legs, or fluff of any kind. No marabou, nothing to move or entice. Just color.